Walking Festival of Sound


Walking Festival of Sound is a transdisciplinary event exploring the role of walking through and listening to our everyday surroundings. It combines a number of free and public events including walking performances, walking seminars and listening sessions, all taking place in diverse public spaces and online. Walking Festival of Sound facilitates a meeting point for the international network of practitioners and researchers interested in sound and walking. Through diverse events we explore how walking and listening practices can augment and challenge the way we perceive, navigate through, and care for our shared environments. In 2019 the festival took place in two cities, Stockholm, Sweden and Newcastle upon Tyne, UK. In April 2021, the festival moved to Krakow, Poland and Edinburgh, Scotland.

In 2022, the festival visits Seoul, Korea and Vancouver, Canada.

The festival was founded and is directed by Jacek Smolicki and Tim Shaw.

Alt text Ambulation by Tim Shaw in Stockholm, Sweden - Walking Festival of Sound 2019 [Image: Jacek Smolicki, 2019]

Artists have included: Chris Watson, Sepideh Karami, Ronda Bautista, Jana Winderen, Linda O’Keeffe, Tim Shaw, Barry Truax, Martyna Poznańska, Lisa Williams, Jacek Smolicki, Patrick Farmer, Martin Parker, Mark Peter-Write, Cecylia Malik & Małgorzata Grygierczyk (Siostry Rzeki), Elena Biserna, Konrad Gęca & Marcin Barski, Anna Nacher, Agnieszka Reiner, Brett Ascarelli, Jez riley French, Pheobe riley Law, Martin Rodriguez, Sophie Bauer, Niki Matita, Erick Ruiz Arellano, Flora Zajicek, Jayne Dent, Sebastián Concha, Max Wayne, Martyna Poznańska, Martin Eccles, Phill Niblock, Yvette Janine Jackson John Bowers, James Davoll, Peter Cusack, Newcastle-Upon-Tyne Modernist Society, Tess Denman Cleaver, Usue Ruiz Arana, Tyneside Sounds Society, Janna Holmstedt, Juanma González, Erik Sjödin, Nguyễn Thanh Thủy & Geraldine Hudson.

More Info on The Walking Festival of Sound Website

WATCH: Walking Festival of Sound - Artist Walks with Chris Watson

Funded by Newcastle Institute for Creative Arts Practice, European Cultural Foundation, Korean Arts Council & Vancouver New Music.